About Australia

Australia officially is a single continent country, surrounded by the Indian and Pacific oceans. Australia offers the new arrivals a diverse range of lifestyle choices from the beautiful beach towns, striking desert and rural landscapes to the cosmopolitan cities with excellent infrastructure, healthcare and schooling. Australia is the world’s 12th-largest economy and has the highest per capita income in the world. Every year Australia is rated as the most livable country in many international comparisons of national performance, such as quality of life, health, education, economic freedom, and the protection of civil liberties and political rights.

Capital: Canberra nicknamed the “Bush Capital.”

Dialling code: +61

Currency: Australian dollar

Language: English

Largest Cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth

Religion: Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism and Islam

Major Ethnic Groups: Majority of the European origin and others are Indigenous peoples of Australia‎, Asian, African, Middle Eastern, Latin American and Pacific peoples.

The Australian federation comprises six states and two main territories as mentioned below:

New South Wales
Capital: Sydney
Big Cities: Sydney Newcastle, Central Coast, Wollongong
Main Regional Cities: Albury,Wagga Wagga, Orange, Lismore, Coffs Harbour, Richmond

Capital: Brisbane
Big Cities: Brisbane, Gold Coast
Main Regional Cities: Sunshine Coast, Townsville, Cairns, Toowoomba, Mackay, Rockhampton

South Australia
Capital: Adelaide
Big Cities: Adelaide
Main Regional Cities: Adelaide, Mount Gambier, Whyalla

Capital: Hobart
Big Cities: Hobart
Main Regional Cities: Hobart ,Launceston, Devonport

Big Cities: Melbourne
Main Regional Cities: Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong

Western Australia
Big Cities: Perth
Main Regional Cities: Albany, Bunbury

Australian Capital Territory
Capital: Canberra
Big Cities: Canberra
Main Regional Cities: NA

Northern Territory
Big Cities: Darwin
Main Regional Cities: Darwin, Alice Spring